Loading Events
This event has passed.

Part of Guildford International Concert Season 2021/22

Composer  Stephen Johnson

Johnson  Quartet No. 1
Shostakovich  Quartet No. 7
Beethoven  String Quartet No. 15 in A minor

While Beethoven produced the greatest string quartets of the 19th century, Shostakovich provided the 20th century with similar masterpieces. Beethoven’s A Minor Quartet op. 132 is considered to be one of his most profound works while Shostakovich’s 7th is a work of extreme emotional intensity. In this exquisite concert, the world-renowned Brodsky Quartet bring these works to life with the energy and craftsmanship which has positioned them at the forefront of the international chamber music scene.

The concert will open with the well-known British composer and broadcaster, Stephen Johnson’s First String Quartet and a fascinating introduction considering these two great works alongside his own experience of writing his quartet.


For more information and to book please click here 


Go to Top